|
Job Discussion Forums "The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"
|
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
veiledsentiments

Joined: 20 Feb 2003 Posts: 14901 Location: USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Latest addition to the list of scammers:
http://furahilanguageschools.tk
Supposedly offering a start date in February with what seems to be reasonable pay and benefits.
Note the usual .tk address.
VS |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aliceinwonderland
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It looks like this job advert:
http://www.tefl.net/esl-jobs/esl-jobs.pl/read/14730
posted by info@sezlabor.tk might be part of this scam?
I received an email from one
"Dr. Rahman Hassan [Director, Dept. of Education Activities]
UNDER THE CONTROL OF SHARJAH EDUCATIONAL ZONE-LABOUR OFFICE"
after (unfortunately?) replying to the ad. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
veiledsentiments

Joined: 20 Feb 2003 Posts: 14901 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Definitely a SCAM
Notice how unrealistic it is... extremely high salary... but no credentials required other than being alive and applying. That salary would require an MA and 3+ years of experience. There is no pension for expats. There is no such thing as a "feeding allowance." The provided furnishings list is very bizarre too. It has the weekend being Friday, Saturday AND Sunday!! Completely ridiculous...
The Salary & Benefits will be as follows:
* Salary is $4750USD per month(Tax Free).
* Overtime pay is $50USD/an hour.
* Weekly Feeding Allowance is $250USD.
* Severance Pay equal to 1 month’s salary (on completion of contract).
* 30 days Paid Vacation per year.
* Free Round trip economy class ticket will be provided for you and your family members.
* 100% Pension will be provided.
* 100% Medical Insurance will be provided.
* Free 2bed room private Apartment(Rent-free and furnished) will be provided within the school premises.
Furniture: Curtains, bed, bedding, sheets, desk, closet, table, dining set, VCR, TV, washing machine, clothes rack, pots,pans, dishes, cutlery, phone, fridge, stove, fan or AC, and a working heating system etc.
The Job Details are as follows:
* Teaching English to Age groups ranging from elementary to middle school students (30~40 students/a class).
* 12 months contract(Renewable).
* Working days : Monday and ends on Thursday.
* Working Hours: 6 hours Daily [9:00am to 3:00pm] 12pm-1pm Break Time.
* Employee will receive 1 month paid vacation on top of the already stipulated holidays (Every Friday, Saturday and Sunday including Ramadan and all National Holidays).
To apply you MUST meet the following requirements:
* All Nationalities are Accepted.
* Positive outlook with a strong desire to work.
* Ability to interact comfortably & effectively.
* MUST be Honest and obedient person.
Interested applicants should submit his/her CV/Resume,recent photo and International passport copy through email: ***@sezlabor.tk |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aliceinwonderland
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks VS.
And very embarrassing to think that I fell for it.
Despite two years teaching experience in Korea, I don't have much experience actually applying for jobs, and definitely not in the ME... but I am learning - fast  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
veiledsentiments

Joined: 20 Feb 2003 Posts: 14901 Location: USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No reason to be embarrassed unless you didn't pause and check things. I always wonder how many people send them the money. You will probably continue to receive emails from them.
VS |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aliceinwonderland
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@ VS
No money changed hands, but I naively (read: stupidly) sent of my CV and copy of passport details page. Oh well.
I sent you a PM with two questions about working in the KSA. My questions are not directly related to the 'scams' topic.
Hope you don't mind.
Regards, |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aliceinwonderland
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| veiledsentiments wrote: |
You will probably continue to receive emails from them.
VS |
Eight emails (at the last count), and in less than 12 hours. This could have been funny, well some of it anyway, if it wasn't so ... disgusting? embarrassing?
Apparently I already have a job (no interview) and my visa is "being arranged" somewhere... at another .tk address. I haven't opened any attachments, so I don't know whether I've been requested to pay them yet.
The person sending the current batch of emails calls himself "Sir Hassan Majid - Principal". Don't know whether to laugh or to cry about the "Sir" bit. Greedy, dishonest + an obsession with British titles? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
veiledsentiments

Joined: 20 Feb 2003 Posts: 14901 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| aliceinwonderland wrote: |
| The person sending the current batch of emails calls himself "Sir Hassan Majid - Principal". Don't know whether to laugh or to cry about the "Sir" bit. Greedy, dishonest + an obsession with British titles? |
These things only get funnier.
VS |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aliceinwonderland
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| veiledsentiments wrote: |
These things only get funnier.
VS |
Breaking news
Not only did I manage to get a job without an interview, I can also take 5 (yes, FIVE) family members with me.
As I understood it from "Sir's" correspondence, the airline tickets are basically ready and waiting to be collected somewhere.
I'm sure it's just the small matter of my payment for this fantastic opportunity that now remains to be settled....
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
yeobo
Joined: 04 Oct 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like the scam continues:
A few days ago I replied to an ad on the Global TESOL Job Board. I thought it was strange they asked for passport number in the ad, but I decided to apply anyway just to see where it would go. Fortunately, I had enough forethought (suspicion) to omit my passport info from my application.
I received replies coming from various email addresses, all different from the one I responded to in the ad. One email address, info@sezlabor.tk, I found this morning in this thread, also coming from Dr. Rahman Hassan of the Sharjah Educational Zone.
Furthermore, I've just received an offer of employment, but I haven't had an interview with the school or recruiter. The offer of employment is consistent with the one discussed in this thread.
The company has not asked for any money, yet, but I suspect that would be the next step if I am to reply to their offer. They have already included a fake government email for me to contact in order to apply for a work permit (workpermit@uaeministryoflabor.tk). I have decided to cease communication with the company, before they ask for money or sensitive information or documents.
I hope by posting my experience I can prevent others from potentially getting scammed.
The name of the school is Khalifa Language School, located at 175 Naif Road, Deira, Dubai, United Arab Emirates.
If anyone has information about this school, whether or not it actually exists please let us know. I'd hate to falsely accuse a place, but it reeks of a scam to me.
Also, the original job ad was posted by:
Alima Hamsa
Email: kaeslad@hotmail.com
Phone: 0097146443064
Btw, thanks to everyone who posted in this thread.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aliceinwonderland
Joined: 06 Mar 2012 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am still receiving emails from sezlabor.tk - despite the fact that I didn't respond to a single mail they sent me after my initial enquiry almost two months ago.
What a pity one must learn about your own and others' stupidity in such a manner.
Like yeobo above I hope this thread helps others. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nomad soul

Joined: 31 Jan 2010 Posts: 1822 Location: Al Mamlaka
|
Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| aliceinwonderland wrote: |
| I am still receiving emails from sezlabor.tk - despite the fact that I didn't respond to a single mail they sent me after my initial enquiry almost two months. |
A good reason to have a dummy email address just for basic job inquiries. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
This page is maintained by the one and only Dave Sperling. Contact Dave's ESL Cafe
Copyright © 2011 Dave Sperling. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|