| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Rousseau Redhawk
Joined: 21 Aug 2012 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:12 pm Post subject: Shamal Solutions -- Legit? |
|
|
This ad for teachers in the UAE just appeared on Dave's. Can't find much web presence for the recruiters, Shamal Solutions.
The salary is a fantastic 22,000 AED a month, though.
Anyone ever heard of such a thing?
Thanks....
(Teachers Needed - Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Posted By: Shamal Solutions <dr_alan@live.com>
Date: Monday, 7 January 2013, at 1:15 p.m.
Local training company requires additional teachers to provide Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced English Language training to young adult learners in Al Ain, UAE. Our English language section continues to grow in numbers to provide instruction using American Headway, DynEd and Aviation English curriculum materials.
QUALIFICATION:
1. Bachelor’s or higher
2. Native American English speaker (Born in USA or Canada)
3. Holder of an internationally recognized qualification in the Teaching of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) or equivalent (TEFL, CELTA) with 100+ hours in-class training.
4. Two years of work experience teaching English.
5. Mature and confident personality sensitive to cultural dynamics.
DUTIES:
A typical working week is comprised of 40 to 48 hours weekly. Daily schedule varies from either an 7 am to 2 pm instructional day or in the evening from 4 pm until 9 pm daily. Duties include but are not limited to: course preparation, PPP lesson plan required for each class, instructional prep per day and admin duties. A high use of English Language software and multimedia programs will be involved and therefore mastery of the computer is essential.
SALARY AND BENEFITS:
Salary 22,000 AED monthly
Contract period: 2 years
Housing allotment provided
Travel: Incoming and out-going flight ticket to home of record.
Medical: Local medical insurance plus travel insurance.
HOW TO APPLY:
Send your resume to dr_alan@live.com (dr_alan @ live.com) and include the following information in the body of the email:
1. Name
2. Date of birth
3. Place of birth
4. Educational background
5. Any additional educational certificates
6. Length of educational work experience) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Eisenhorn
Joined: 25 Oct 2009 Posts: 131 Location: HCT Land. UAE
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rousseau Redhawk
Joined: 21 Aug 2012 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:55 pm Post subject: Shamal Solutions |
|
|
It is curious, isn't it? They do say you could expect up to a 48 hour work week, but that is a large salary, plus a housing allowance.
I've sent what they asked for in the ad; perhaps I'll know more and be able to report back soon.
Thanks for the check on Linked In.... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TT-Kira
Joined: 04 Mar 2008 Posts: 53
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Their requirements are totally contrary to ICAO doc 9835 ...
Find it strange that they offer decent money but don't want the required qualifications
On their website there's a message saying that there aren't any positions at present ..
Anyone know anymore? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Eisenhorn
Joined: 25 Oct 2009 Posts: 131 Location: HCT Land. UAE
|
Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:55 pm Post subject: Re: Shamal Solutions |
|
|
| Rousseau Redhawk wrote: |
It is curious, isn't it? They do say you could expect up to a 48 hour work week, but that is a large salary, plus a housing allowance.
I've sent what they asked for in the ad; perhaps I'll know more and be able to report back soon.
Thanks for the check on Linked In.... |
About the housing allowance... in the advert posted they say 'allotment provided' that doesn't really mention any housing allowance... They might be lumping a housing allowance in with a monthly salary... that would explain the 'crazy' money they are advertising. I know a few folks who work at IAT who do that.. they lump in their housing allowance into their monthly salary and then claim they are making over 20K a month in salary. <shrug> |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Expat101
Joined: 09 May 2012 Posts: 46
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rousseau Redhawk
Joined: 21 Aug 2012 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| The ad in the address you provided is almost identical to the Dave's ad, down to a high salary. I haven't heard from them, but if I do, I'll relay back what I've learned. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
selvatoronto
Joined: 15 Jan 2013 Posts: 2 Location: Oman
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:18 pm Post subject: UAE Dr Alan |
|
|
In fact I wrote to Dr Alan because I found his 'demands' .
He says the candidate MUST be born in one of the western countries! I asked what if they person's parents were in the third world somewhere and had a child?
In the end he told me 'Get over it"... I found his ad discriminating, and him... well... unrealistic in this global world.
I won't be surprised if this ad is a hacker's work. I did have such an experience couple of years ago from Abu Dhabi. They asked for a copy of my passport and ONLY $50. When I said I would make the trip and come to Abu Dhabi they did not write back. I also contacted the Ministry of Education in Abu Dhabi at the time. They told me the company was not legitimate!
BEWARE |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|