Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New teacher, moving to Mexico in August
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
shawmeadower

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:43 pm    Post subject: New teacher, moving to Mexico in August Reply with quote

Greetings!

I just finished my CELTA certification and fly to Mexico City at the beginning of August. I am new to teaching English and hope to be in Mexico for the next 1-2 years. I am interested in living in Guanajuato, Querétaro or Oaxaca, but will ultimately be swayed on where I can get a job.

I have sent out some emails and resumes without much luck so far. My main concern is that I am coming to Mexico a little late---most of the job postings at some of the bigger language schools were for June and July. For a newbie like myself, am I too late to find a bearable job?

I plan to continue emailing schools until I leave, and then try the door to door approach. Any advice/tips are welcomed!

Cheers,
Erin
Jultime

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, and welcome.

Take a good read through the many threads here, you'll find lots of good information and helpful people.

Its difficult to find work in Oaxaca, there are only 5 language schools plus to economy is tourism based and so not much money for English. But you can try applying at the universities if you have a bachelor's degree. The rent in central Oaxaca is overpriced.