Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

japanese univerities
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
[email protected]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:07 am    Post subject: japanese univerities Reply with quote

I have started teaching at a Japanese university and have found that their placement of students is woeful: not one of the classes I teach has a course book fit for their level.
I was observed teaching and I am going to get my feedback 5 weeks later.

Is this sort of pedagogical ineptitude normal in Japan?
I have been teaching for 25 years and they must win the belt buckle for being cowboys!

KeithfromLeith
rtm

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:58 am    Post subject: Re: japanese univerities Reply with quote

Quote:
I have started teaching at a Japanese university and have found that their placement of students is woeful: not one of the classes I teach has a course book fit for their level.

I only ever taught part-time at Japanese universities, and no longer live in Japan, but I was always allowed to choose the textbooks for all of my classes.
mitsui

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have found this to not be the case most of the time.
I do work in a national university now and students are put in classes by their last name. My students all have a name that starts with a vowel.
There is a range of students, and maybe it is better that I don't have an assigned textbook. When I did so many students "forgot" to bring it.