Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CEC in Oman, a positive side
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
FordPerfect

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 4:33 pm    Post subject: CEC in Oman, a positive side Reply with quote

I thought I'd put my two cents in on the subject of the CEC and teaching at the Higher Colleges of Technology in Oman.

I have been a teacher in Oman with the CEC since the start of the project, which has only been one and a half years. I live and work in Ibra. This is what I think,

The job is easy and frustrating at the same time. The hours are great, only 17-20/week. In fact in the time I've been here the most I've worked was 21 hours/week, and that was for one semester. Also our HOD (Head of Department) does his best to make sure everyone is finished working by noon on Wednesdays. (The work week is Sarurday-Wednesday)

The frustrating part is that there is very little organization. Now I have a slightly different perspective than others in this regard because I have been here since the first. Compared to September of 2003, the organization at our college now is amazing. We just recently have organized the courses with coordinators, and we now hve someone who's job it is to be in the library at all times. Trust me, these are big things people.