Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is it worth the trouble?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ace9415

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:39 am    Post subject: Is it worth the trouble? Reply with quote

I've spent the last 6 months trying to put together a move from Seattle, WA, to Berlin. I've been reading many message boards, like this one, trying to get some more information about teaching English in Germany (I'm a successful music teacher here in Seattle).

In a nut shell, I'm massively discouraged by what I read. All anyone does in these forums is complain about the bad pay, the taxes and pension requirements, the bureaucracy, the bad pay, being used by employers, bad pay, bad hours, and bad pay. In one article I read, the interviewee, a British teacher in Munich, just laughed when asked "what are the benefits of teaching ELS in Germany?", and said there were none.

Is this the truth of teaching English in Germany? or are only the bitter and jaded posting on these sites? I'm thinking teaching music (or doing light construction, which is my other main job) is going to be a better way to go, and just find some way to freelance with each of those jobs.

Any input or advice anyone has would be most welcome.

Vielen Dank,
Sean Barker
Seattle, WA
spiral78

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote