Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching in Latin America with no experience

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Latin America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BenDWire

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:47 pm    Post subject: Teaching in Latin America with no experience Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm a 23-year-old from New Zealand and have recently completed my BA. I have no experience teaching English and no TEFL qualification.

I'd love to teach in Latin America, and am not fussy about where, as my main goal is to teach (obviously), break even as I will not have enough savings to live on while I'm there, and learn Spanish (ideally, I'd like to take classes).

Is this possible with my credentials and lack of experience?
litterascriptor

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have zero experience working in South America. I do have teaching experience working in China and South Korea. My experience tells me you really should consider pulling together a nest egg prior to departing to all parts unknown. ESL can get messy at times, it's mostly unregulated by any government, and most teachers are afforded very little protection.

I have general ideas I tend to offer to people interested in traveling and teaching.

1) Have enough money to get out of town on short notice. You really don't want to get trapped in a foreign country living on a super low salary and paying the foreigner prices.

2) If possible get an open airline ticket.