Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CELTA or TEFL Cert

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mocc

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:32 pm    Post subject: CELTA or TEFL Cert Reply with quote

Newbie here-

I've been interested in teaching English in Asia for quite sometime and feel that I'm ready to take the plunge. Since I have no relevant teaching experience I've been considering the CELTA certification. My largest concern is the cost. Though I have the money, I'm a bit leery on spending over $2000 to find out that I may not enjoy teaching. Ideally, I would like to teach for one year as a test drive with a lesser qualification than the CELTA and then go from there. I've narrowed my choices down to China, preferably a university or Thailand. I realize that both of these countries pay very little but since I'm a complete newbie with no real experience I may as well start in a country that I like. I have no interest in teaching in Korea.

I see plenty of TEFL programs advertised but it's hard for a newbie to distinguish between the good and the bad. There is an Oxford Seminars program that is held at universities all over the US but my limited research tells me that it's a waste of time and money. Is there a reputable TEFL certification program that is recommended? Will that program coupled with a degree be enough to land a job in a Chinese university or a Thai school?

About me-