Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Attending CELTA school first (as non-EU)

View previous topic :: View next topic  
zcpet

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Attending CELTA school first (as non-EU) Reply with quote

This is a bit of a cross post from the General Europe forum, but anyway--

I'm an American student with about 1.5 years left until I graduate with a BA (Liberal Arts). I'm aware that a non-EU passport holder has about zero chance of getting work in Europe by filling out job applications while sitting behind his computer desk.

So my question is, would I have any chance of success if I came over to get my CELTA at a certified school in Germany? And I would assume in the East would be even better?

I speak passable traveler's German and I'm sure I'd be able to get to B level German in a year or so.

Is this is decent idea, or no?

Thanks!
taxman

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know, there is no way to do your CELTA in Germany. When I did mine (2008) I had to go to Prague.
JN

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To zcpet: Sounds like a decent idea, though I'm not sure how you define success. You should bring savings with you until you can get some work.

To taxman: http://berlin.school-of-english.de/pages/teachertraining They may do a course in Hamburg, too. Maybe there are courses elsewhere, too.
taxman

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the link JN,