Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is Costa Rica a good choice for me?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Costa Rica
View previous topic :: View next topic  
latinamericaorasiaorbust

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:23 pm    Post subject: Is Costa Rica a good choice for me? Reply with quote

Hello. I’m American and taught in South Korea for one year followed by approximately 8 years of teaching EFL in various Middle Eastern countries. I would like a change in scenery and am strongly considering Costa Rica. I have a Master of Science (not an MA) in Education and a CELTA (6 years experience post CELTA). I have a few questions and would greatly appreciate any feedback that can be provided.

1. What types of institutions could I work for? (I am debt free so I would consider all types of learning institutions as long as I could save some money.)

2. What is a good time of year to arrive looking for work?

3. What pay should be expected at each type of institution? (college, high school, grade school, after-school and after-work language schools, etc, etc)

4. How much should I be able to save, if any, even if working at a low-scale institution? (don’t really need to go out a lot as I am past that age)?

5. With my credentials, could I work at a Costa Rican K-12 school, or MUST I be licensed?

6. Do most jobs in Costa Rica include medical coverage? If not, which EFL jobs do, if any?

7. Is there a preference for Caucasian instructors? Do you know of any native English teachers that aren’t Caucasian?