Site Search:

TEFL International Supports Dave's ESL Cafe
TEFL Courses, TESOL Course, English Teaching Jobs - TEFL International
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

In need of some direction please....

View previous topic :: View next topic  
pattic

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:03 pm    Post subject: In need of some direction please.... Reply with quote

Hi! I've been browsing through this forum for a few months and I am looking for some info & advice from some of you who have been at this a while. I'm 53, female and while I have no degree, I have been employeed in the real estate/escrow industry in southern California for over 30 years, so I have extensive professional, computer and managerial background and experience, all of which may or may not be of any use.

I am considering moving to Mexico, getting a TEFL cert and embarking on a new life and career. My reason for Mexico is partially due to my lack of degree and also because it's reasonably close to home and family. My funds are somewhat limited so I'm trying to keep the costs of the TEFL cert down as much as possible to use the funds for living & relo expenses.

I'm not looking to make a fortune but just to make ends meet without constantly feeling as though I'm only treading water - struggling just to get by.

So main question is will my work experience count for anything at all? I've searched the business forums but really have not seen too much there that seemed to be relevant, unless I'm just not searching correctly. Is this plan reasonable or with limited funds and resources and lack of degree do I have too many things working against me?