Site Search:

TEFL International Supports Dave's ESL Cafe
TEFL Courses, TESOL Course, English Teaching Jobs - TEFL International
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Big Life/Job Question
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
akazoroe

PostPosted: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:25 pm    Post subject: Big Life/Job Question Reply with quote

Hey everyone.
I’m new here and looking for your opinions on jobs for myself in the Osaka area.

At current I am living in the USA with my Japanese wife. I have been teaching at a University here since 2009. I have been teaching in an Art department and have a Bachelors and a Masters degree in Art. As many of you know, economically, things have been rough in the USA and this problem has finally caught up with my own life. The university I teach at has made some bad (stupid) choices on top of lower and lower enrollment numbers. As a result, I have been cut to part-time (half-pay as well) and there are no other jobs in my area and all other nationwide are extremely competitive.

From this point my wife and I are considering moving back to Japan due to the details above and her aging parents. I realize that an eikaiwa job wont quite cut it for supporting a family and so I am researching other options. I am fine with teaching English and do love teaching so I am not opposed to teaching positions if they pay well enough. (10 years ago I spent 3 years teaching English in Tokyo so I actually have some of that experience.)