Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Questions on application process/timing after graduation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> China (Job-related Posts Only)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pacifica8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 7:54 pm    Post subject: Questions on application process/timing after graduation Reply with quote

Hi,

I am a 23 year old student in the US. I will be walking at graduation in May although I will not officially graduate and get my diploma/licensure probably mid-July because I need to take two summer classes. My girlfriend and I want to be able to find teaching jobs in China that are close enough that we can live together. She has a bachelor's in Middle Childhood Education and mine will be in Adolescent to Young Adult Education. I was wondering since I will not get my diploma until a little later in the summer (sometime in July), will I still be able to apply and find a job with my girlfriend by August or September?

I have talked to several different people including former esl teachers who have taught there, recruiters, and placement agencies but I have not gotten a consensus on what is the best/easiest way to find a job especially if I want to be near my girlfriend. My current preference would be for the Shanghai / Hong Kong areas

Any advice or insight that you have is greatly appreciated.

Dave

Last edited by Pacifica8 on Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:21 pm; edited 2 times in total
rtm