Site Search:

TEFL International Supports Dave's ESL Cafe
TEFL Courses, TESOL Course, English Teaching Jobs - TEFL International
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

120HR online LoveTEFL. Waist of time or better than nothing?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Saudi Arabia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
orbit720

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:56 pm    Post subject: 120HR online LoveTEFL. Waist of time or better than nothing? Reply with quote

I have over three years of teaching experience in South Korea and I'm looking to teach somewhere new. Preferably, somewhere in the middle east. However, a lot of jobs I see requires some sort of certificate.

Right now the LoveTEFL 120HR online class is only 99 pounds which is pretty cheap but is it a waist of time? Will it help me at all with obtaining a position in Saudi Arabia, the Middle East, or other parts of Asia, ie. Malaysia?

Any input will be greatly appreciated.
lcanupp1964

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waste of time for two reasons:

1. Online. Everybody that hires teachers in KSA hates anything on a CV that was obtained via the Internet.

2. It will help you in the classroom if you get over here; not a lot, but it will help.

I went to Phuket, Thailand for a five week, 120 hour TEFL/TESOL (I also got two, 50-hour "add-ons" while I was there). I kind of turned my nose up at the idea at first because I thought I wasn't going to get anything out of it, but a much needed piece of paper. Gee, I sound like my Saudi students.
spiral78

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote