Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

...English Corners.
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> China (Job-related Posts Only)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FreakingTea

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:39 pm    Post subject: ...English Corners. Reply with quote

I'm in my first year teaching in China, at a university. The job is nice, but the 40-something-student class sizes, lack of resources, and limited potential for teacher development is not the kind of thing I want to stick around for. Everywhere has its drawbacks, but I'm thinking I should apply to work at a private school in the fall. China's great and I don't want to leave just yet. I just hope to have a reasonable amount of transferable skills by the time I leave to teach in another country, hopefully Russia.

Anyway, I've been searching threads and reading up on various school chains, and most of it sounds tolerable except...English Corners. They're optional at my university, but I went to one and it was honestly kind of painful. I love standing in front of groups and delivering lessons, but I'm not the kind of person who can naturally jump into a crowd and mingle like some people can. Having to do that twice a week (or something) on top of a full-time schedule sounds exhausting.