Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Taking the leap...need input

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Indonesia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrWright

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 8:18 pm    Post subject: Taking the leap...need input Reply with quote

Hello. I haven't been a big poster to this forum over the last few years, but some of what I'm about to say I've said before elsewhere, so please forgive the redundancy. Here's the sitch: I am a public high school teacher in Arizona, 8 years experience by June, and sick, sick, sick of teaching in this system. Like, I'm done. But I've hung on because I've been a single father all these years and my youngest turns 18 in May and is going off to college. So I'm "free" now, so to speak, and ready to make this happen. I am certified to teach History and Biology. I know, I am "qualified" to teach in international schools, but I am so burned out, and I want low stress, low pressure work, and those schools are just as bad in those departments as public schools here, some worse. So ESL seems the better fit, but I am speculating as I've never done it. But without a degree in English, I think I'm screwed as far as Indonesia is concerned. Please correct me if I'm wrong. I'm not too, too worried about money. I have some savings, that I would rather not need to tap, but just want to fund some travel for awhile. If I like it and want to do this more long term later I will concern myself with financial acquisition then. So any advise would be appreciated. I'm going to post t