Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

safe? easy to get a job?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Latin America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jlanman4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:43 pm    Post subject: safe? easy to get a job? Reply with quote

Looking to teach English in South America, leaning towards Colombia and Chile. Just curious as to peoples opinions on safety and ease of obtaining a job. I speak very little spanish, I have a degree, and will have my TEFL license very soon. Any advice or insight is greatly appreciated.
spiral78

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TEFL license?
Who's printing one of those? Where is it valid? Does it have an expiry date?

Are you referring to a certification? And if so, from what provider?
esl_prof

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Generally, most jobs in Latin America are found by going to the country of your choice, knocking on doors of schools and institutes, and distributing copies of your resume far and wide. This, of course, requires basic conversational proficiency in Spanish.

Do your research before you go. Use the internet to locate websites of the better known schools that you might target once you arrive. You might begin by googling the names of the various Binational Centers located in Colombia and Chile: http://dosfan.lib.uic.edu/usia/E-USIA/education/engteaching/eal-elp1.htm But don't limit yourself to just those schools.