Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Vietnamese American Newbie moving to Saigon
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
thetuanster

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:50 pm    Post subject: Vietnamese American Newbie moving to Saigon Reply with quote

Hello all! I'm a newbie here as well as in the ESL world. Here is my background:

31 years old male, 2nd gen Vietnamese American from Washington, DC. Non-Native speaker however people can't really tell I'm a non-native unless I tell them Smile

BS IT Network Admin/Info Sec
IT professional for 3 years
Former DC Police Officer (4.5 years)
Former teacher assistant for an after school program (1 year)
Recent CELTA graduate at Teaching House Washington, DC (still waiting for the actual CELTA certificate from Cambridge)

I'm planning to move back to Saigon at the end of this year and I'm hoping to get a fairly decent teaching gig there. However, I did lots of research and it seems that I will be fighting an uphill battle due to my ethnicity. It is quite disheartening knowing that Asian Americans are getting discriminated against because our skin color is not white. Also, most of the jobs there are listed for non-native only (this is crazy!Smile)

What should I expect besides the blatant discrimination? Is it possible for me to make around $1500-$2000 a month in Saigon with the above qualifications? Btw, I don't have to pay for housing so the only financial obligation I have is student loans (around $500 a month).