Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Moving in a month!
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Chinesenoodles

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 4:15 pm    Post subject: Moving in a month! Reply with quote

Hello!

I will be moving to el DF on June 3rd to start my CELTA training course which runs through the 8th of July. During the month of July I'd like to find a job if I haven't already and then take off to travel before the school year begins in August.

I am a certified teacher here in Houston, Texas and have taught for two years in an elementary school with a high population of ESL students, but I'm not ESL certified hence the want to do the CELTA to get an actual good experience with teaching ESL.

I have a bachelor's degree in English, experience teaching in a high-needs public school, and a love for Mexico City!

I have been emailing the upper elementary school principal at the Eton School in Sante Fe, and she's interested in having me your the school when I get there the first week of June. Does anyone know anything about the working conditions in this school or have experience working in one of the international schools?

I even have a potential room lined up in Condesa sharing an apartment with two ladies around my age (late 20s), but the rent seems insane when I look at past posts about how much rent has been. The rent for my room would be 7000 pesos. Is that high for a room with roommates in the area or is that normal? It seems dreamy from what I'm paying now in the states, but I won't be making US dollars!