Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Moving to Mexico on Sunday -- best ATM card options?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jeremy_

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:09 pm    Post subject: Moving to Mexico on Sunday -- best ATM card options? Reply with quote

Hi all, I am a new ESOL teacher and am off to Cuernavaca to start a new job this Sunday. I thought it would be easier to set up a banking card that can have money put on it remotely from the US and be withdrawn by me once in Mexico, but it's proving very difficult. What are some cards I can get so I won't have to carry around a ton of cash, can withdraw pesos from an ATM without incurring large fees, and can have someone in the US add dollars to it easily? I tried my bank (Chase Manhattan), but they want 3% every time I make a withdrawal plus a host of other fees. H&R's Emerald card seemed like a good option, but apparently I don't meet the minimum requirements. I know that whatever card I get I'm going to have to pay some fees, but this is going to be an expensive enough move without paying an arm and a leg just to access money. Please help!
(If it makes any difference, I live in New York City, so if there's a Mexican bank I'm not aware of -- I've already tried several -- that has a NY branch and that's the best way to go, I'd be willing to do that).
Guy Courchesne

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might try asking at Citibank as they own Banamex...not sure if they have a no-fee withdrawal arrangement on the ATMs.