Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Australian headed to SF Bay Area
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General North America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cloud_pleaser

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:25 pm    Post subject: Australian headed to SF Bay Area Reply with quote

Hi all,
I am, as stated in the thread title bound for the SF Bay Area (Have family there) in January. I am going to be doing my CELTA and then trying to find some teaching.
Other fun facts: I have five years experience (mostly in China) and am working towards a Masters in Applied Linguistics (one more year!).

I guess my main questions are:
Where are good places to begin? The standard places like IH/Kaplan/ELS? or community colleges (I notice most of them teach ESL prep).
Another tricky question is visa sponsorship. Do ESL employers in the US generally sponsor visas? This is kind of a niche question as Australians actually have our own special visa category for the US (E3), which is easier to sponsor than others.

Any help would be appreciated, I'm trying to gauge what level of optimism is appropriate Wink
nomad soul

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Give craigslist San Francisco a look for ESL ads to see what employers require. Also do an Internet search using community college san francisco esl jobs.