Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Latvia and the Baltics

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Europe Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Archie Rice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:50 am    Post subject: Latvia and the Baltics Reply with quote

Anyone have any experience of teaching / living there?

I'm on the move and thinking that Riga could be a good place. I have 5 years teaching experience working with adults, in company. Have lived and taught in Czech, Hungary and Spain. I've been to both Riga and Vilnius and liked them, though felt Vilnius was a little small. My only reservation with Riga is that the British Stag party scene is pretty strong there, and kind of dominates the town centre during summer.

Has anyone got any experience of Latvia, or the Baltics in general? Are there plenty of schools offering in-company classes for adults? If so i'd be interested which schools are good employers, and any other relevant information.
currentaffairs

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that you can find work fairly easily with a good CV. I worked in Tallinn and visited Riga a few times.. The money will be pretty low (especially in Vilnius) compared to nearby countries. There are lots of opportunities to teach business classes on-site and at language institutes.
Archie Rice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote