Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

When does term begin & advice on which country
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Latin America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
apollolight

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:35 pm    Post subject: When does term begin & advice on which country Reply with quote

Hello,

I am an experienced TEFL teacher and considering moving to South America to teach. I have two questions -

1. When does the new term begin in most South American countries?

If the term begins toward the end of February or early March I would imagine this is an ideal time to apply for work.

2. Which country has a lot of opportunities for English teachers?

I would like to work in a Spanish speaking country. Also, I am not expecting a big salary but at least enough to cover all the essentials without working more than around 25 contact hours.

I'd appreciate any advice in this regard.

thanks in advance!
BadBeagleBad

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you at least narrowed it down to a few countries?
MixtecaMike

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Early to mid January in Guatemala, but you only make enough to cover basic living costs. Most hiring was done last October or November, but there are lots of colegios (private schools) advertising now to fill in the gaps, at least in the capital.
Yes, I know it's Central and not South America, but someone might want to know.