Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CELT - Teaching in Ireland after 5 yrs. in Asia

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Europe Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
manicminer

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 10:47 pm    Post subject: CELT - Teaching in Ireland after 5 yrs. in Asia Reply with quote

Hi folks,

Just wanted to write my first post on my experience of doing the CELT course in Ireland after having spent 5 years teaching English in Bangkok at a university there.

Like many, I have an unrelated degree (MSci in Chemistry). I've also got an i-TO-i TEFL cert from 5 years ago which helped to prep me for teaching in BKK.

A few have mentioned that it's a tough transition coming from Asia to Europe, and they are absolutely right - since beginning doing teaching practice sessions on the CELT, I essentially feel like a new teacher. Certainly, I have some built-up confidence from teaching before, a fair but limited knowledge of grammar, and some classroom skills, but the teaching is so radically different and methodology-driven that I can honestly say that Asia didn't prepare me very much! In Thailand, as a teacher, I was left mostly to my own devices to figure out the best ways to teach students, and although I know I was liked as a teacher over there, I can see that there has been a rather large gap in my training that is only now starting to be filled.

The CELT course is, however, a bit intense and leaves little to no time for preparation or studying notes.