Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Will main institutes hire without a toefl/celta?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SinaloaPaisa

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:51 pm    Post subject: Will main institutes hire without a toefl/celta? Reply with quote

Wondering how much of an issue I will have finding enough or decent work without any ESL cert. I have a bachelors and an actual teaching license from the states with 3 years ESL exp in Korea.

Also, would 4,000 usd be plenty to hold me over until getting that first decent paycheck?

Wanting to get out of Korea asap.
skarper

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes - you will have issues getting decent jobs without a CELTA of equiv. The better centres know the other TEFL certs are bogus and they also know a Teachers license has no bearing on EFL [anymore than a CELTA makes you a school teacher].

3 years experience in Korea also has little weight. Better than nothing maybe but Korean hogwans are very different to what happens in Vietnam. Different culture, different L1, different problems. In some ways Vietnamese are easier to teach IMO but they are certainly very different and some things that worked in Korea will not fly in Vietnam.