Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Military Technological College, Muscat, Oman, A to Z....
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
spudulike

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:12 pm    Post subject: Military Technological College, Muscat, Oman, A to Z.... Reply with quote

I worked as a teacher at the Military Technological College in Muscat for the first three years. I’ll outline here what happened.

Let’s begin at the beginning. The RAFO was all set to run the place. Professional, well organized and experienced, they were replaced at the last moment by family and friends of Ministry workers in Muscat who became aware of the budget. It sure was a big budget. Tons of money was involved in the Sultan’s last prize project, an all arms military academy par excellence. But the Sultan got sick. Things went the way of the ill fated Blue City. Don’t Google Blue City, it’s a secret. Deals were made, cash was transferred, friends of the friends benefited. Fingers were in the till. An Irish Dean and Irish, English Dept. HOD were brought in. An Australian agency, disastrously, was hired to manage the teachers. Navitas, legally barred from operating in Canada and many US states, “the bottom feeders of the education industry.” Not a great start.

Recruitment consisted of a quick chat about soccer. Arriving in Oman, we were driven to a semi complete site of unfinished buildings on a wasteland, kilometers from the nearest shop, and left there for a month, with no contact, support, cash or food. This didn’t bode well for the future.