Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

University of Guadalajara - need help with job application

View previous topic :: View next topic  
MsHoffman

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:34 pm    Post subject: University of Guadalajara - need help with job application Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm a newbie to teaching EFL overseas, but I've been Teaching English as a Foreign Language to international college students in San Bernardino, CA for a few years now. I have my M.A. in English and my TEFL certificate (in-person program with a 15-hour supervised Teaching Practicum).

I speak/read Spanish very well, so through Google, etc. I found a Mexican job site advertising a great Maestro De Ingles position at the UNIVERSIDAD DE GUADALAJARA. Unfortunately, I've run into a bit of a problem:

In order to apply for this position (or get any contact information about the hiring person at the university), I have to register for this Mexican job site. And (of course), in order to register for the job site, I need a CURP identification, which is the Mexican social security number (as a non-citizen I don't have one).

Is there any way around this? I do have a Mexican consulate near me, so if there's a chance that going there will help me get this CURP (and hopefully access to many job ads), then it's no problem. I'm just worried that the consulate will just tell me that I can't get the CURP because I'm an American citizen who's never been to Mexico (yet!).