Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Business/Academic Teaching in Asia

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Asia Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
yzw200

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 8:57 pm    Post subject: Business/Academic Teaching in Asia Reply with quote

Hi All!

I'm new to the forum and considering teaching overseas for a couple of years. I'm a native English speaker from the U.S. I have 10+ years of professional experience in the non-profit and government sectors and have written reports for government officials and a Mayor of a mid-sized American city.

I have a Master in Public Administration degree which focuses strongly on business communications/writing within the public sector. I will be completing either a TEFL or CELTA certificate.

I do not have formal teaching experience, though I have tutored over the years and currently mentor high school and college students.

I've been advised that my experience should open up opportunities to teach English in Business and Academic environments. I was hoping for feedback from those in this forum on:

a. The accuracy of that advice
b. Potential pay rate for business/academic
c. Where to start in looking for these types of positions.

Thank you all in advance for your advice and feedback. I truly appreciate it.

Yisrael
sigmoid

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote