Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New here.. Many questions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sandlapper

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 10:53 am    Post subject: New here.. Many questions Reply with quote

Hello, I am considering international teaching after having retired three years ago in the US. I have a masters and 28 years experience. I have taught in public and private schools. My experience is wide range. I have taught everything from4K to high school public speaking. I am a 57 year old female. Am I not very marketable, because the only country interested in me is China and a position in the Marshall Islands responded. Thanks
suphanburi

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your age is a significant factor.
In many countries you are near or over the mandatory retirement age and beyond the age for visa issuance for many.

Examples are:
Korea: 55 is the limit for visa issuance although visa extensions can go to 60. 60 is required retirement.
Thailand: 60 is mandatory retirement although foreigners who are working and qualified as teachers can stay working to 65 in private k-12 schools. 60 in government schools.
For international schools the majority of hiring was done last January/February for August start dates. For Thai calendar schools they are hiring NOW for the start of school on May 15. You need to be in the country.