Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Celebrating birthdays of co-workers

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
linn78

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:54 am    Post subject: Celebrating birthdays of co-workers Reply with quote

Alright everybody, I've been teaching for 3 years and 3 different places and every school has one thing in common, everybody contributes to a gift for the birthday of other workers.

This is never mandatory, but everybody knows you must do it or you are a jerk. I think its a great thing, as everybody receives something back on their birthday. You spend allot of money collectively, but everybody gets a return on their contributions when their birthday comes around. that is, in exception to those with summer birthdays.

the schools I've worked at are mostly operational during the normal school year, so my birthday is always skipped. I've spent a few hundred dollars on contributions but have never seen any kind of return since my birthday is in July.

I think summer birthdays should either be fully morally exempt from contributions, or have a a guarantee return date during the school year.

Can I get some support on this from my fellow summer birthday teachers? lets start a movement to make sure we are all fairly compensated.
spiral78

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote