Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching 1st Grade with almost no English comprehension
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tellersquill

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:21 pm    Post subject: Teaching 1st Grade with almost no English comprehension Reply with quote

I'm a teacher with only a few months experience who has just begun to work with a public school in Saigon, Vietnam. I'm teaching grades 1, 3, 4, 5 - and while grades 3, 4, and 5 have been straight forward the grade 1 class is pretty awful thus far.

I made the mistake of thinking that they would know basic things like numbers and colours because of kindergarten but I was mistaken. Doing tasks with them was a bit of an ordeal and I had to rely on my TA to do translations (which is somewhat frowned upon if done to much).

Has anyone got any decent activities for kids who are 6 years old with little English comprehension? (also: they cannot read or write in English)

So far I have:

-Word Drills
-Slap the board
-Hello song
-Chant Vocab
-Point at the flashcard
-Teacher says
-Stand up sit down

I've been looking around online and its actually quite hard to find tasks that are suited for public schools with little English.
santi84

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At this age, I am a big fan of choosing a daily "helper" and using this song for absolute beginners:

Good morning to you,
Good morning to you,