Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

No luck in the US
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General North America Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hemlock32

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:19 am    Post subject: No luck in the US Reply with quote

I have a few questions I would like to pose for the forum. I first want to say that I am a recent graduate with MA in TESOL and have four years of international experience teaching adults and children/adolescents. I have been on the job hunt for one month so far and have begun to believe that simply sending out cv after cv to various locations throughout the U.S. isn´t very fruitful. I have had one interview that was about 3.5 hours away from my house, and for which I needed to pay out of pocket to get there. Although I thought the interview went very well, it nevertheless ended in a "thanks, but we have found someone to fill the vacancy."
One of my mentors in my MA program told me that before he got hired he sent out his CV to about 60 employers and got about 5 replies. 3 were: "no thanks" and 2 were: "okay, lets have an interview."

In any case, my questions are:

1. If you have been employed in a University or community college IEP or IELP or anything similar to this, how long did it take you to land a position? What were your credentials?
2. Do you have the impression that if you are applying from out of state, you will not even be noticed?