Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Why are alcoholics attracted to summer camps?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ISSAKAB

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:56 am    Post subject: Why are alcoholics attracted to summer camps? Reply with quote

I'll try to summarise, because I don't want to write a rant, entertaining as the sordid details might be!
I worked as a teacher at two camps this year, in two different European countries. At each one, there was a culture of what I'd call excessive drinking. Both times I witnessed people putting themselves at risk of serious injury, possibly even death. At the second camp (which I'd worked last year and was really looking forward to) the DOS was incompetent, incapable of exercising their duties and was eventually fired. Along with another teacher. What really depressed me was how most of the team joined in drinking with this individual. This was after another teacher left the camp, because they found the DOS' behaviour so unacceptable. I had to carry two teachers most of three weeks - hung over every morning, unenthusiastic, unprepared for their lessons and so on. Now I like a drink, I'm not anti alcohol, I drink two or three glasses of wine most evenings and have a very liberal attitude towards recreational drugs but for me there's a time and there's a place. The kids at all these camps were such a joy I find it hard to get my head around how heavy drinking would be more appealing than engaging