Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

From Saudi Arabia to China
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> China (Job-related Posts Only)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
saren

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:27 pm    Post subject: From Saudi Arabia to China Reply with quote

Hello, I have been teaching ESL since 2005. I have a TEFL and a background in Journalism. I speak 7 languages including basic Chinese. I started out in China (In Xiamen) and also worked in Beijing, Shanghai.

Then, I went to teach in Thailand, Malaysia, Spain and finally Saudi Arabia (where I am now).

I would like to return to China. I know the salaries are lower than Saudi (here I make over 4000USD/month tax-free and have free rent on top of that). My first question is Shanghai the only place in China that offers salaries above 25,000RMB/month?

I don't mind if a high salary package doesn't include benefits or housing (I don't mind taking care of my own housing), instead I am more concerned about the number of teaching hours per week, for example 12-16, or 18 (avg). So, please let me know if Shanghai is the place I should be focusing on?

In truth, I would much rather live in a lesser built up area with fewer people, perhaps Hainan or even somewhere in the Chinese desert (i.e. gansu, inner mongolia, ningxia, qinghai) but I know the salaries there are not likely to surpass 20,000RMB/month. So this post is just to reconfirm what I may already be leaning toward, which is Shanghai.
Dream_Seller2