Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

red flag?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
tin man

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 12:28 pm    Post subject: red flag? Reply with quote

I am new to considering working in Spain and quite perplexed. Based on the reports I read here I am not sure what to think. I am from the USA have a BA and TESOL and teaching experience in Asia. I got offered a job after a very brief Skype interview, no video just audio. Moreover, the requested FT feedback was quite incomplete. Perhaps a non-native.

The offer seems well above average based on the reports on this website. I am not complaining but a possible red flag given what seems to be a high salary and other perks. However, I must pay for the work permit and the dep on the apartment (I assume after I arrive).

They have recommended a visa service/attorney and they report I can get the work permit in three weeks. The fee is 190 Euro.

The school seems legit. They have a website, FB and student reviews on google. I am not clear on what may be needed to get the work permit other than filling out the form, passport page, and other info provided by the visa service. And their communication is also not all that good.

Any thoughts?
spiral78

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you have a passport from an EU member country in addition to your (presumably) US one, this is most likely a scam.