Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Checking Authenticity of the CELTA
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
H5N1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:08 am    Post subject: Checking Authenticity of the CELTA Reply with quote

I'll be interviewing candidates for teaching positions soon and it's my first time doing so.

My company does not want to accept fake degrees of CELTAs or TEFLs.

How can I check if a job applicant's CELTA is real?

There is online access for this with the Cambridge exams (KET, PET, FCE, etc) for the test takers but I have not found anything on how to check the authenticity of a CELTA teaching certificate.

I do not have a username for the teacher's section on this site.

Thanks in advance.
nomad soul

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CELTA isn't on the Cambridge English list for online exam verification. (See https://verifier.cambridgeenglish.org/User/ShowExams).

In other countries, the job candidate is responsible for obtaining a certifying statement from Cambridge that indicates his/her CELTA score. There's a fee involved. (See the section, Applying for a certifying statement, on Cambridge's site.)
H5N1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nomad soul wrote:
CELTA isn't on the Cambridge English list for online exam verification. (See https://verifier.cambridgeenglish.org/User/ShowExams).