Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MA TESOL vs. Teaching License for futureproofing ESL Career
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> China (Job-related Posts Only)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Voyeur

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:41 am    Post subject: MA TESOL vs. Teaching License for futureproofing ESL Career Reply with quote

I'm a Canadian in my 40s, and unmarried. I've been teaching in Asia for 15 years. I think I'd like to keep teaching ESL overseas for as many years as I can.
I've come into an inheritance of around $40,000 and have some savings of my own.
I'd like to start a discussion as to what is a better way to future-proof myself as an ex-pat teacher for the next ~20-25 years, either in China or elsewhere.
I generally prefer teaching ages 13 and older, including adults. But I can teach any age if needs be.
While it depends on one's circumstances, the MA TESOL route is probably faster and cheaper: often one has to take some additional undergraduate classes to align teachable subjects before doing the year required to get a Western Teaching license. But jobs at true International schools seem to be more lucrative than what you can get with an MA TESOL.
Unheard Utterance

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

An interesting post. One indeed has to think of ones future when the ripe old age of 40 hits home like a sledgehammer.