Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

two year degree-can he teach?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
poppysprite

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 10:58 pm    Post subject: two year degree-can he teach? Reply with quote

I have a bachelors degree in English, so I will have no problem finding work in Taipei. My boyfriend is the serious one for teaching in Taipei, because we have a really good friend who moved back home from America. But my boyfriend just completed his two year degree in graphic design and we want to live in Asia and learn Mandarin. Should he just stick it out here for another two years to complete the degree? Or do you think he might get a decent job as a teacher with just his Associates degree?

Any comments or suggestions? Another concern is, I know the Taiwanese aren't as conservative as the Koreans, but should we be married before going there or does that just pose a problem for couples? I'm fine with not marrying him right away, but if it doesn't make us look bad as teachers, I'll do what's best in Asia to be marketable. I read, write, and speak some Korean and studied some Japanese. I'm an American and I can't wait to leave Georgia, since I have traveled to Asia and can't wait to go back.
pistonear

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:33 pm    Post subject: not an expert but... Reply with quote