| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
sharpe88
Joined: 21 Oct 2008 Posts: 225
|
Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think that`s quite an overstatement. Varying levels of honesty at best.
``For every scam out there, there are 30 or more honest businesses offereing services and making money.`` |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
3585kate
Joined: 22 Jun 2009 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:05 pm Post subject: Special Thai Project Oct 12th 2009 |
|
|
Hi,
Could anyone tell me about the Special Thai Project in Phuket? With the American TESOL institute?
After research it seems legit and reputable please could anyone let me know if you have heard anything about this project?
Thanks |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
sliderama
Joined: 11 Nov 2007 Posts: 89
|
Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
rhubarbjane,
don't EVER send money in advance, this happened to me and I learned my lesson the hard way. No reputable recruiter, agent, school, employer etc. will ask for money in advance in order for you to take a position. In my view this just indicates something unscrupulous...
hope it helps |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vonniedarby
Joined: 13 Sep 2009 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:35 am Post subject: Re: SCAM WARNING: ESL ASIA/Jobs Japan/Japan Placements |
|
|
| sperling wrote: |
It has come to our attention that there is a disreputable company posting jobs on several top ESL Sites. Do not apply for any jobs from ESL ASIA/Jobs Japan (Anthony Martin, Paul Adler, David Smith, Michael Simpson, Malcolm MacDonald, etc. ), a company based in Thailand.
Do NOT send them your original university diplomas or any money because this is a SCAM!
All the best,
Dave Sperling
Founder
* * * * * * * * * * * *
Dave's ESL Cafe
http://www.eslcafe.com |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vonniedarby
Joined: 13 Sep 2009 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:40 am Post subject: Re: SCAM WARNING: ESL ASIA/Jobs Japan/Japan Placements |
|
|
PLEASE NOTE TO ALL TEACHERS APPLYING FOR JOBS IN HARBIN, NORTH CHINA.
DO NOT GO THROUGH AN AGENT TO FIND YOU A JOB, ESPECIALLY AN AGENT CALLING HERSELF DAISY SUN XIANGYI AGENCY. THIS WOMAN AND HER PARTNER IN CRIME, CHRIS GOUGH, ARE UNSCRUPULOUS PEOPLE. THEY PROMISE YOU JOBS, VISAS AND ACCOMMODATION. ALL OF WHICH ARE NOT FORTHCOMING......I FOUND OUT THE HARD WAY.
DEAL DIRECT WITH THE SCHOOLS, UNIVERSITIES AND FOREIGN LANGUAGE CENTRES YOURSELF.
ALSO DO NOT GIVE ANY MONEY TO ANY INSTITUTIONS OR AGENTS. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
roywebcafe
Joined: 13 Jan 2006 Posts: 195
|
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:01 pm Post subject: posting passports |
|
|
I have been asked by a contact of workforce solution http://www.workforcesolution.co.uk/ to send my passport and photo to them in the post. Also been asked to get a medical done at home for work in Saudi arabia. The phone number on their website is not in service and they don't even advertise EFL jobs on their site.
I don't know of anybody who asks for a passport in the post unless its an embassy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
seklarwia
Joined: 20 Jan 2009 Posts: 1546 Location: Monkey onsen, Nagano
|
Posted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:03 pm Post subject: Re: posting passports |
|
|
| roywebcafe wrote: |
I don't know of anybody who asks for a passport in the post unless its an embassy |
In the UK, not even the embassy will ask that of you. All passports have to be delivered by hand, but if you pay an extra charge they will send it back special delivery. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Chris_Crossley

Joined: 26 Jun 2004 Posts: 1797 Location: Still in the centre of Furnace City, PRC, after eight years!!!
|
Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:26 am Post subject: Re: posting passports |
|
|
The only time I would ever send my passport to anybody through the post would be for cancellation (subject to renewal) to the UK Embassy of whichever country I happen to be living and working in at the time, meaning, at the present time in my case, the PRC.
What a potential employer should be satisfied with is a scanned copy of the passport page that includes your digital photograph and other details, although I would personally block out the passport number just in case someone gets hold of the information and attempts fraud in any way.
If the employer still persists in having you send them your passport, then refuse to have anything to do with them any longer. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
realtimerrr
Joined: 29 Dec 2009 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:29 pm Post subject: Bell Educational Trust and Saudi Arabia |
|
|
| Watch out for Bell Educational Trust. Told me I had contract and to go out and incur over $2000 in physical examination and visa expenses, proceeded to mess up my visa application royally - in part through honest but staggering mistakes -and then refused to compensate me even partially for my expenses. They also promised me I would be teaching about 25 hours per week, but the contract I received said normal working hours will not regularly exceed 48 hours per week!!!!!!!!!! Bell also said that I would be officially employed by a Saudi company but refused to give me any contact information for them so that that company is completely in the dark as to Bell's incompetence and dishonesty. Bell kept stressing I had to be ready to go ASAP, to have my bags packed and to be ready to depart at any moment, so I canceled my Thanksgiviing and Christmas plans. Also drove 1100 miles round trip to Miami to get an expedited passport and 1200 miles round trip to DC to walk my visa through by hand - only to find out that Bell had dropped the ball completely and later some heated words canceled my contract. AVOID BELL LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
seklarwia
Joined: 20 Jan 2009 Posts: 1546 Location: Monkey onsen, Nagano
|
Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:57 pm Post subject: Re: Bell Educational Trust and Saudi Arabia |
|
|
| realtimerrr wrote: |
| They also promised me I would be teaching about 25 hours per week, but the contract I received said normal working hours will not regularly exceed 48 hours per week!!!!!!!!!! |
Although how this company treated you is outragous and I do not debate that they should be avoided, things like this often happen with eikawa/ALT contracts due to a legal loophole that companies use to get out of co-payments on shakai hoken.
This bit looks more like you misunderstood or were misled into believing that teaching/class hours and working hours are the same thing, which they are not. You'll probably find that the "teaching about 25 hours" means the time you'll be spending in the classroom actually teaching, but that they still expect you to be in the school 8 hours/per day even if you are not teaching many classes that day (up to 6 days/week from the sounds of what you are saying). During these hours when you are not infront of the students, you could be expected to perform other forms of work/prep or you might be allowed to read/study/smoke/go to the store, etc, but this depends on the school. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Dustov
Joined: 01 Jan 2010 Posts: 3 Location: Scotland
|
Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
| This sort of thing is great to know. Thanks and more of this please. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
kezzaNZ
Joined: 14 Jan 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Thanks, it is good to know these people are out there ripping people off. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mushroomyakuza
Joined: 17 Sep 2009 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hey guys
can anyone verify this company (or not) as their offer sounds way too good to be true:
http://www.tefl.com/jobs/job.html?jo_id=41534
Free flgiths for you and your family, free accomodation, no tax....a likely story? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
seklarwia
Joined: 20 Jan 2009 Posts: 1546 Location: Monkey onsen, Nagano
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There are still some jobs going like that in the middle east. And after looking at their site, that's all the were offering (it still says must be able to leave Jan 2009, so not sure whether that site or company is still active).
A job like that in Japan? Not likely and definately not with tax free earnings. Any jobs like that for Japan are probably a scam. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
gusto
Joined: 15 Feb 2010 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:10 am Post subject: Summer 2010 USA-China Cultural Festival |
|
|
| Has anyone heard of the 2010 Summer USA-China Cultural Festival? A local college promoted this program to our school district to volunteer and receive room and board with travel tours included. The festival is July 6th through the 24th. Students, parents, teachers, principals and coaches from both the USA and China are supposed to be participants at the festival. This college works with our district professionally. We are supposed to be given $500.00 towards flight tickets. The schedule has arrival with opening events in Beijing for 4 days of tours and activities. We are supposed to be placed in a 3.5 star hotel. The rest of the festival takes place in Shenzhen at the Oriental English College with classes and fun events scheduled. Teachers are to be housed in comfortable faculty dorms with private baths. After reading information on this forum, we have concerns about this trip. Teachers are required to teach for 4 hours daily, for 12 days. Much of the information given to us is vague. We have all paid application fees and were looking forward to vacationing in China this summer. The company letterhead for the applications and information is American International Students Foundation. If you have any information to share about this festival, we would appreciate your comments. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|