| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Space Teacher
Joined: 25 May 2005 Posts: 36
|
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| big_big_bang_theory_fan wrote: |
Next time, take the initiative to demand professional and/or legal verification of their right to conduct such business, government licenses, and payment in advance. You admit that they had the forethought to indicate you might not qualify, despite "doing worK" and thus, out of luck.
Never heard of "if it sounds too good to be true" ? A few hours of work at home, no effort, no commute, no anything, all for some quick cash ? Hmmm, big surprise.
Dave's is hardly the place of reputation in my opinion. |
What, no "bazinga"? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
greenbacksal
Joined: 21 Oct 2011 Posts: 1 Location: Sydney
|
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 5:34 am Post subject: ESL software scam |
|
|
| In addition to disreputable companies posting dodgy ESL jobs I've recently been hearing some bad press relating to certain ESL software program scams. My advice is to be wary of these self-paced ESL programs. While there is is probably excellent ESL software on the market, I'd advise potential buyers to do their share of research before sending money off for an ESL program they may know little about. Can anyone share their own experience with ESL software programs? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
janerussell85
Joined: 18 Oct 2011 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:25 am Post subject: ESL Software Program Scams |
|
|
| I would like to share the experience of one of my ESL students who almost got involved in an ESL software scam. They were about to send off their money to a dodgy ESL software company but fortunately asked my opinion first. I did some market research, found some very bad press and was able to help them avoid trading their money for no return. It's valuable to be able to share any information to assist our ESL students in avoiding ESL software scams. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Mr. Kalgukshi Mod Team


Joined: 18 Jan 2003 Posts: 5752 Location: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBeT4ptY9sY
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rodriga
Joined: 04 Nov 2011 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 3:02 pm Post subject: Job in Nanjing |
|
|
I'm totally new to this and have just started thinking about getting a job in China.
I've just seen a job advertised in Nanjing that sounds great - basically a P.A. job working for a lady who is setting up an English school in Nanjing (her name is Jasmina Fogarty).
HOWEVER, she has not posted a website or any other details about the school she has set up. She says she has investors who are "ready" to promote and expand the program.
What do people think? Does this sound dodgy or legitimate? I might only have her word for it. Would you guys apply and go for a position like this? How can I find out if it is a decent opportunity?
Many thanks in advance for any tips. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rodriga
Joined: 04 Nov 2011 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:16 pm Post subject: A couple more questions from a newbie |
|
|
Firstly, has anyone used www.abroadchina.org to get a job? What was your experience of it?
And more importantly, I have read that you should never send a copy of your passport to a prospective employer (in case it's a scam), but it seems to me that MOST ads for jobs in China ask you for one?
Can I ask people's advice about this? Would you send a copy of your passport? If not, how do you get round this requirement?
Many thanks for your time. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
petertrinh10
Joined: 07 Dec 2011 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:10 am Post subject: Question |
|
|
| Not yet |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bigmagnum9999
Joined: 22 Nov 2011 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:19 pm Post subject: IS IT A SCAM? |
|
|
Ok, Im kinda new to all this, including searching job in China, but reading your forum, and looking at job offers, this seemed weird to me, that someone wants you to send CV, Certificate, passport, photo, and reference letter to apply for the job. well...surprised the most by the passport thing. And i disagree with Rodriga, I rarely see that anybody asks for your passport scan or whatever in the first place, before anything else, even getting in touch with you. Thats just weird to me.
Anwyay the adds i read were from Jacky.wu of www.teachingd.com and they suddenly posted a group of them on shenzhen party. Anyway, perhaps Dave or someone else is better at verifying stuff like that. Or perhaps this is come kind of legitimate company you all know and Im making a fool of myself  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
naturegirl321

Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 8745 Location: Suwon
|
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:11 am Post subject: Re: IS IT A SCAM? |
|
|
| bigmagnum9999 wrote: |
Ok, Im kinda new to all this, including searching job in China, but reading your forum, and looking at job offers, this seemed weird to me, that someone wants you to send CV, Certificate, passport, photo, and reference letter to apply for the job. well...surprised the most by the passport thing. And i disagree with Rodriga, I rarely see that anybody asks for your passport scan or whatever in the first place, before anything else, even getting in touch with you. Thats just weird to me.
Anwyay the adds i read were from Jacky.wu of www.teachingd.com and they suddenly posted a group of them on shenzhen party. Anyway, perhaps Dave or someone else is better at verifying stuff like that. Or perhaps this is come kind of legitimate company you all know and Im making a fool of myself  |
I don't know. I see places asking for all that you said when you apply for the job. As for the passport thing. I send it. I know that some people black out important info, but I don't. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bigmagnum9999
Joined: 22 Nov 2011 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Oh, i didnt express myself correctly, im surprised only by the passport thing, especially after many warnings not to send copies of passports or diplomas. Others stuff is pretty obvious:) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
BearMan Mod Team


Joined: 20 Nov 2005 Posts: 115
|
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't find the request for a scan of the passport ID a bad idea. Schools - just as much as teachers - would like to know who they are dealing with. Some countries (China is one) often conduct informal records searches.
If a school is going to have you in a classroom with young children - perhaps unsupervised for hours everyday, might they be interested in verifying exactly with whom they are dealing?
It's okay with me. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bigmagnum9999
Joined: 22 Nov 2011 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:07 am Post subject: ps |
|
|
| thanks:) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
funkyging
Joined: 06 Jan 2011 Posts: 44
|
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 12:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
| removed |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
lightchina
Joined: 07 Jan 2012 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:30 pm Post subject: Questions on Company, Taiwan Students |
|
|
Thanks guys for all this information. I have been approached by a company based in Taiwan called Dewey International Education Consultants to teach English. Have you heard of them?
Also, how are the Taiwanese students? Are they eager to learn?
lightchina |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
No Longer Amused
Joined: 18 Nov 2012 Posts: 7
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|