Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

University degrees

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Canuck1

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 10:47 am    Post subject: University degrees Reply with quote

I am a relatively new teacher with only a year experience post CELTA. I am under contract in the Middle East. My question is this: How important is a university degree in getting a teaching job? Also, is an online degree given the same clout as a traditional degree? Lastly, does an online TOEFL certificate help a teacher get a posting teaching TOEFL? Thank you.
R

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty useful. It depends where you want to work. Many countries, eg Japan require you to have a degree before they'll give you a work visa. It's possible to pick and choose the countries that don't, but if you can get a degree it will open a lot more doors. I don't have a degree myself but after research into the opportunities available without one, it's back to school for me!

Rob.
bnix

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 1:09 am    Post subject: Listen to Rob's Advice...He's Absolutely Right.. Reply with quote