Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

HELP! need moral support
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
cazzy

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 11:37 am    Post subject: HELP! need moral support Reply with quote

Im teaching in a private koleji and think im going to go insane! I am finding the total lack of discipline so difficult. I was beginning to think it was because im a foreign teacher but the students are the same with the turkish teachers in every dept.
I have tried every possible way to keep them interested, including games, using music,film,tv etc but it is proving very wearing.
In my previous life i taught students in Scotland who had serious behaviour problems and have also taught in Africa so it's not from lack of experience.
I'm stuck between a rock and a very hard place, any ideas? Sad
calsimsek

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start drinking, and don't try so hard. The more you try, the more they will play up. Fail the kids and call the parents.
cazzy

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheers sounds like good advice Wink
molly farquharson

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think call the parents first and then threaten to fail the kids. emphasize your professionalism and the needs of the kids, etc. good luck
Otterman Ollie

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Steady girl ,not so fast ! Reply with quote

Hi Cazzy