Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

EF Cibubur?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Indonesia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wanderingstar

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 2:48 am    Post subject: EF Cibubur? Reply with quote

I have recently been offered a teaching position in an EF school just outside of Jakarta, in Cibubur. I am a 19 year old girl with a TESOL certificate, and although I have no formal classroom experience, I have had 6 informal years of peer-tutoring ESL to a European student.

The DoS of the school is Hugh Young, a Scottsman, and all of my dealings with him have been very (or seemingly) upfront and informative. One year contract, reimbursed airfare, accommodation provided, 7+ weeks paid holiday, 25(ish) contact hours/week, 6 mill Rp/month, small classes, all ages and levels, internet access, A/C, medical insurance, visa handling, etc.

I've asked him my share of questions, but I cannot find anything about this particular EF school (been established for 4 years, very successful, he says) or the area it is located in. I've also done my share of research on EF schools and have found extremely mixed reviews.

I was wondering if anyone out there has a personal experience about working in an EF school that they might share with me, or any advice, warnings, etc. Also, anyone who has dealt with Mr. Young in particular, or visited or lived in the Cibubur area... any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Indo teach