Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ESL teacher looking for work- any leads?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
middle east bound

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 6:12 am    Post subject: ESL teacher looking for work- any leads? Reply with quote

Hello- I'm an experienced ESL/TOEFL teacher (about 7 years), but without any certificate or advanced degree completed... I may be able to get a TEFL certificate online if I get hired.
I've taught in Japan, and traveled and lived a bit in many countries. Does anyone know of any good leads for an ESL job? I'm ready to travel from the U.S. (I'm American) to Qatar soon!
Thank you! Idea Question Wink
QatarChic

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi MEB

All the places where I have seen adverts for teachers have asked for at least a BA +TEFL. (maybe the others heere who have worked there can give you more of an idea)

However, this advert which was on the british site http://www.jobsunlimited.co.uk doesn't say anything about certification:

QATAR

A number of posts are available for experienced male or female EFL writers on our team at Qatar Petroleum. Previous teaching and writing experience in oil industry desireable but we will consider those with similar experience in Business English.

Salary $2500 per month tax free; free accommodation, meals, flights, use of car, paid holiday, gratuity.

CV and covering letter to [email protected]

Interviews in London or Gulf by arrangement.
middle east bound