Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Questions About Khon Kaen
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Thailand
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fud

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 3:05 pm    Post subject: Questions About Khon Kaen Reply with quote

Hey All,

I'm a CELTA certified teacher with a degree and about a year's experience. I've long wanted to go to Thailand, but never had much desire to live in Bangkok or Phuket. If I go, I want to live in the north--you know, so I can experience the "real" Thailand while learning Thai kickboxing and meditating in temples and whatnot.

But seriously, is anybody here in Khon Kaen? What is the salary range I should expect or negotiate for, given my background? The city and the region sound lovely, but my experience is in China and Spain, and I have no idea what the range of salary is compared to living expenses. I just want to be able to live comfortably and travel some, hopefully to Laos or Vietnam. The reason I ask is because I'm in talks with a school in Khon Kaen, and it sounds like a good deal, but then again, how would I know?

Thanks in advance!
Kent F. Kruhoeffer

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Fud

Never been there myself, but TEFL positions Upcountry generally pay between 20,000 and 35,000 Baht per month. With a CELTA and a BA you should be shooting for the upper regions of that range. On 30K or thereabouts, you should be able to live well enough and do the 'local' traveling you'd like to do.