Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Paying jobs shorter than an academic year?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
oreochicken

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:56 pm    Post subject: Paying jobs shorter than an academic year? Reply with quote

I am an experienced ESL teacher with a MATESL degree who has been teaching academic ESL full time at a large university IEP in the US for a few years. Because of my current family situation, I am not able to move abroad for an entire academic year, but I would love to teach in Qatar for a single semester or summer term. Does anyone know if such placements are available? At what schools? I have had difficulty finding any such thing on my own. And yes, I am specifically interested in Qatar and possibly the UAE. (This message is cross-posted in the UAE forum.)

Thank you in advance for your help.
veiledsentiments

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because of employment laws and visa rules, I suspect that there are very few of these jobs available. Normally summer school positions are snatched up by people who are already there in order to get the extra pay. They would certainly not pay to 'import' someone for that short of a period, nor would they pay you benefits like housing, and once you factor in the cost of the flight over and living, it would probably be a cash negative situation for you. I am assuming that you were not expecting to pay for this experience.

VS
dmb

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote