Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching in Germany
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
astr0_b0y

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:58 am    Post subject: Teaching in Germany Reply with quote

Hey all, I have been reading through some of the discussions recently and some of it has been pretty helpful but I was wondering if people knew how to grap a job as a teacher in Germany(Mainz).
I have a teaching degree and have taught in England b4.
I don't speak German but will learn quickly.

I know all there is to know about the unemployment level in Germany, but was hoping people might have some specific information on how/where to get a job.

I'm looking at teaching at an English speeking school as a regular teacher all the wy through to afternoon English classes for Adults.

any ideas?

astr0_b0y in Australia
yumyumkorea

PostPosted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

First, you won't get a school to pay for your flight, or even probably get any form of accommodation for you. As you may have read from the boards, the market is depressed in Germany at the moment, and the days of flight tickets and paid flats have gone (for the moment).

Your best bet is simply to get on a plane and arrive, choose the town you want (you mention Mainz), then do the rounds of all the schools in the area. Arrive on their doorsteps and ask for work, if you're lucky they will need a teacher and you may be hired.