Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Overseas contracts

View previous topic :: View next topic  
prophetNZ

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 11:44 am    Post subject: Overseas contracts Reply with quote

Hello all,

I posted this in another forum but had no replies, I was hoping someone out there might be able to clear this up.

I have been asked (by a company in New Zealand) to do a short contract job in a German company. This one time, one month contract is being organised by the company based in New Zealand to which I am an external contractor. The German company will pay the NZ company for my services and I will receive a fee from the NZ company, this fee will be held in my NZ bank account and used when I travel back home on holiday to NZ.

I currently live in Germany, pay tax here etc, so I would like to know if I have to pay tax to NZ (where I am contracted for the job) or Germany (where I am a freelance teacher and am currently living and intending to stay).

I have been offered advice that I only need to pay tax in NZ but I have also heard about double tax etc. I want to do all this legally without being hit too hard.

I hope this isn't too confusing
Thanks,
ProphetNZ
scot47

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a question for a tax accountant. You are unlikely to get accurate information here.
prophetNZ

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scot47 wrote:
Sounds like a question for a tax accountant. You are unlikely to get accurate information here.