Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Runner Penalty Clause

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Job Discussion Forums Forum Index -> Newbie Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
JDYoung

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 2:57 am    Post subject: Runner Penalty Clause Reply with quote

I'm a newbie looking for my first job.

I have a telephone interview on Monday. The school has sent me a sample contract and it looks reasonable with the exception of the following clause:

If employee resigns during the term of this agreement without the employer�s prior consent, the employee shall pay the employer three months� salary as a penalty.

I understand they need protection from people who leave mid-contract without cause but this doesn't provide for "cause" and three months salary seems excessive to me. Not that I would break a contract unless they broke it first but....

Any opinions?

Well, of course there will be opinions. I've read enough of this board to know everyone has opinions. But any useful comments?
Kent F. Kruhoeffer

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2003 4:42 am    Post subject: and the runner-up is ... Reply with quote

Good Day JDYoung:

Long time no post. Cool

You're right; people will give you a range of opinions on this one, so let me be the brave one and go first: