Site Search:

Get TEFL Certified & Start Your Adventure Today!
Teach English Abroad and Get Paid to see the World!
Job Discussion Forums Forum Index Job Discussion Forums
"The Internet's Meeting Place for ESL/EFL Students and Teachers from Around the World!"

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What's life in Vietnam like?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Wolf

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2003 7:36 am    Post subject: What's life in Vietnam like? Reply with quote

I'm a Canadian national (male if it makes a difference) who has lived and taught (EFL, yes) in Asia for the past four years. I spent three years and change in Japan, and the last six months or so in China (rural, developing China.) I have a degree (BA Honours in Enlish Lit), experience teaching at private schools (adults) and universities. I'm going to start a distance learning MA in Applied Lingusitics (TESOL) this fall. Although I have work in China for the next year or so, I'm already trying to plan ahead for my next move.

So here are some questions I'd like you hear your thoughts on:

1a. Do people spit, stare at foreingers, and scream "HELLO," laugh, and run away in Vietnam? If so, how bad? Is it everyone, every day (like China?) a once a week thing (like Japan if you're unlucky?) or somewhere in between? I'm not insulting the Vietnamese people here. Pop over to the Chinese forum and you'll see why I ask. Confused

1b. Basically, how welcome are foreigners in Vietnam? Not welcome enough? Too welcome? Resentful of visible minorites? Would I be able to "feel at home" after a while?

2. I've seen the thread about sending money overseas. Is it possible to convert local currency into US$, Euros, Yen, whatever, pretty easily?